Seasonal Produce

December 27, 2017

Enjoy eating fresh produce during harvest season! Not only does it taste better but it is more fresh and a delicious way to add color to your plate. Living in an agricultural area has many benefits for us including a bounty of fresh produce nearly year round. Many people do not realize which fruits and vegetables are in season when we have access to everything at the grocery store. While a higher price tag is usually a clue that that particular produce choice is not in season, here is a list of produce in season during November.

 

 

 

*Apples

*Cranberries

*Kiwifruit

*Kumquats

*Oranges

*Pears

*Persimmons

*Pomegranates

*Quinces

*Artichoke

*Beets

*Bok Choy

*Brussels Sprouts

*Chard

*Daikon

*Fennel

*Rutabaga

*Winter Squash (acorn, pumpkin, butternut, spaghetti, etc)

*Sunchokes

*Turnips

 

Below are a few recipes starring these seasonal fruits and veggies. I encourage you to give them a try! 

 

To Nourish is to Flourish!

 

Follow me on Pinterest {https://www.pinterest.com/provisionnutrition} for other healthy recipes featuring these and other fruits and vegetables!

 

 

Sausage Stuffed Acorn Squash {https://www.paleorunningmomma.com/sausage-stuffed-acorn-squash-paleo-whole30/}

 

Cranberry Salsa {http://www.health.com/recipes/cranberry-salsa-dish}

 

Kumquat Chicken Skillet {http://theadventurebite.com/kumquat-chicken-skillet/}

 

Persimmon Custard {http://www.unconventionalbaker.com/recipes/paleo-and-vegan-persimmon-custard/}

 

Pomegranate Chia Seed Yogurt Parfait {https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pomegranate-chia-seed-yogurt-parfait}

 

Pomegranate Braised Pork Shoulder with Quince {https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pomegranate-braised-pork-shoulder-with-quince}

 

Maple Butternut Roasted Brussels Sprouts Pumpkin Seeds and Cranberries {http://juliasalbum.com/2016/10/maple-butternut-squash-roasted-brussels-sprouts-pumpkin-seeds-and-cranberries/}

 

Fennel, Sunchokes, and Apple Salad {https://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Fennel-Sunchoke-and-Apple-Salad}

 

Swiss Chard with Ginger and Cumin {http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/swiss-chard-with-ginger-and-cumin}

 

Curried Carrot & Turnip Soup {https://www.thespruce.com/curried-carrot-turnip-soup-recipe-256015}

Please reload

Recent Posts

Please reload

Archive

Please reload

Tags

Please reload

  • Mail

509-542-7934

©2017 by Provision Nutrition, LLC.